December 9th, 2013 International Anti-Corruption Day December 10th, 2013 Human Rights Day December 11th, 2013 International Mountain Day December 17th, 2013 Pan American Aviation Day December 17th, 2013 Wright Brothers Day December 18th, 2013 International Migrants Day December 19th, 2013 International South-South Cooperation Day December 20th, 2013 International Human Solidarity Day December 21st, 2013 December Solstice December 24th, 2013 Christmas Eve December 25th, 2013 Christmas Day December 26th, 2013 Kwanzaa December 31st, 2013 New Year's Eve January 1st, 2014 New Year's Day January 6th, 2014 Epiphany January 7th, 2014 Orthodox Christmas Day
Rare Unique Tiffany Studios Item Brick From Corona Favrile Factory 1850s In Case For Sale
RARE UNIQUE TIFFANY STUDIOS ITEM BRICK FROM CORONA FAVRILE FACTORY 1850s IN CASE R.I.P. TIFFANY STUDIOS, Corona In 1893,Louis Comfort Tiffanyand his business partner, Arthur Nash, founded the Stourbridge Glass Company in Corona next to the railroad tracks. In 1902, the name of the enterprise was changed to Tiffany Furnaces. His patented “favrile” (handmade) glass was created and manufactured here in this factory, 43rd Avenue and 97th Place. Tiffany’s works reached the height of their popularity in the years leading up to WWI and the pieces are now much sought after works of art. Business slowly declined after the war, as tastes had changed with the passage of time. In 1928, Tiffany withdrew from the company, leaving Nash’s son to run the business alone under a different name. The Great Depression brought about the end of the company. However, the factory and furnace buildings on 97th Place remain standing and are used till ) In March 2013, bulldozers werebusy wreckingthe old Tiffany buildings; presumably the site was sold. A new Public school will be taking the old buildings ) As of now the site is totally demolished and all brick/dirt as been trucked off and thrown away.Here is your chance to own a very unique item. A actual brick from the old Tiffany Studios Build in Queens NyThis building ( as sad as it is )is completely gone and these bricks along with what ever the The Neustadt Collection of Tiffany Glass was able to save or recover. The Neustadt Collection of Tiffany Glass, a non-profit arts organization incorporated in 1969 and in partnership with the Queens Museum of Art in 1995, is conducting extensive research on Louis C. Tiffany's presence in Corona. This story, and the story of a number of local Queens residence who worked for Tiffany, will be presented in the Neustadt Collection's new gallery at the expanded Queens Museum in fall 2013. Prior to the demolition of the building, the Neustadt Collection was granted special access with their photographer and documented the interiors and exteriors of the building. Very few traces of the Tiffany Studios remain. The public school being erected on the site will include an illustrated commemorative plaque documenting the site's history. If anyone has photographs of the building and is willing to share them, please contact the Neustadt bricks visiting the site april 1 2013 where taken with permission from a worker on duty.a later visit to the site in the end of april showed the site completely flattened and no build materials left.photos printed 4x6 inches of the site before and after will be included in the lot forauthentication. The size of the display case is 12x9x4 inchesI have the right to end the sale early for a local sale im also open to buy it now offers. This would be a great addition to any Tiffany Collection, And a piece of history. This building can be seen in almost any documented Tiffany glass book.
Posted with Mobile
This item has been shown 46 times.
Rare Unique Tiffany Studios Item Brick From Corona Favrile Factory 1850s In Case: $141